Where can you light fireworks for Pioneer Day?

ST. GEORGE  — Just like on the 4th of July, fireworks are traditionally launched in celebration of the Utah holiday known as Pioneer Day. There are many places in Southern Utah where residents can launch their personal fireworks, however, similar to 4th of July restrictions, there are Pioneer Day firework restrictions regarding time, location, and type.

In general there are specified zones within some cities and towns as indicated in this article where fireworks may be enjoyed, and only during a certain span of time.

Each municipality’s fireworks restrictions are listed below, as available at publication. Additional restrictions will be added to this report as they become available.

In most cases, people responsible for igniting fires due to illegal fireworks use are subject to prosecution and fire suppression costs.

Utah laws

In general, Utah law specifies that only class-C consumer fireworks can be used or sold. State laws use two classifications of fireworks – those sold by state approved vendors and those which are dangerous explosives – including the likes of firecrackers, M-80s, cherry bombs and all sorts of aerials, roman candles and rockets. For more detail see the state law here.

Also, in Utah, fireworks are allowed to be purchased only between June 23 and July 27 and again between Dec. 29 and 31. Fireworks are only allowed to be discharged by citizens between July 1 and 7, and again between July 21 and July 27. During these periods, firework discharge is legal between the hours of 11 a.m. and 11 p.m., except for July 4 and 24, when fireworks can be discharged for an extra hour until midnight.

Open spaces

Nearly all open spaces and undeveloped land have bans on fireworks including federal and state administered public lands, and privately owned unincorporated land. This includes:

  • National Parks
  • State Parks
  • Bureau of Land Management administered land
  • National Forest Service administered land
  • Bureau of Indian Affairs administered land
  • Unincorporated privately owned land

Furthermore, the U.S. Forest Service has recently prohibited the use of exploding targets on National Forests and Grasslands within the Intermountain Region of the Forest Service.

The closure order includes National Forest System lands in the states of Utah, Nevada, Idaho, and Wyoming administered within the Intermountain Region as National Forests, including: Ashley NF, Dixie NF, Fishlake NF, Manti-La Sal NF, Uinta-Wasatch-Cache NF, Boise, NF, Caribou-Targhee NF, Payette NF, Salmon-Challis NF, Sawtooth NF, Bridger-Teton NF, and Humboldt-Toiyabe NF.
The exploding target closure order will be in effect for one year, from July 23, 2014 until July 22, 2015.

St. George, Ivins and Santa Clara

No fireworks of any kind are to be used within 250 feet of the following areas:

  • Dry washes and drainages
  • River and stream corridors
  • Hillsides, plateaus and mesa tops
  • Undeveloped open space or natural terrain
  • Ivins city further banned firework use anywhere west of 400 West.

St. George’s restrictions run from July 1–31. Santa Clara and Ivins will restrict fireworks until further notice.

St. George City fireworks restrictions map – shows areas of the city where fireworks are permitted as well as restricted areas

Santa Clara City fireworks restrictions map – shows areas of the city where fireworks are permitted as well as restricted areas

Washington City

As of July 27, Washington City has not implemented any fireworks restrictions.

Hurricane, LaVerkin and Toquerville

Fireworks are allowed only in the following locations, between July 1-7 and July 21-27:

  • Hurricane: Spilsbury Park Ball Fields, Three Falls Park, American Legion Ball Fields
  • LaVerkin: Wanless Park, Vintage Park
  • Toquerville: Center Street Park


All fireworks are banned within the  entire incorporated city limits.


No bans, but city officials are asking residents to be mindful of their location when launching fireworks and recommend that residents try to keep them in a safe area where water is easily accessible.

Cedar City

Although the city does not presently have any banned areas, city officials recommend that fireworks be ignited from three locations, which will be prepared for fireworks use: Cedar City High School, Canyon View High School and the Aquatic Center. Officials are also asking residents to use extreme caution, and remember that residents are liable for any fires that start from fireworks.


Fireworks are banned west of 300 West, east of 600 East and South of Kanab Creek Drive. Fireworks are also banned in the Cedar Heights area and the Kanab Creek Ranchos.


The Town Council adopted an ordinance prohibiting all class-C fireworks and all open fires on all land within the Springdale town boundaries. This prohibition is in place from June 30-September 15.

New Harmony

Absolutely no fireworks in the New Harmony area.

Related Posts

Email: [email protected]

Twitter: @STGnews

Copyright St. George News, SaintGeorgeUtah.com LLC, 2014, all rights reserved.

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.