Southern Utah player of the year voting

Sports Commentator Patrick Blake is host of the Blake’s Take show, airing weekdays from 5-6 p.m. on KZNU Sports Radio Southern Utah Sports Network – 93.1 FM 1450 AM – with live stream online at

ST. GEORGE – KZNU Sports needs your help! KZNU Sports is taking votes for the Southern Utah player of the year on their facebook page. All you have to do is “like” the KZNU Sports facebook page and vote. The winner will receive over $200 worth of prizes.

Seniors from Dixie, Desert Hills, Hurricane, Snow Canyon, Pine View, Cedar and Canyon View high schools were placed in five groups. The leading vote getter in each group will move to the semi-finals while all the second place vote getters in each group will go head-to-head to fill in the final spot. The semi-finals will have three student athletes in each group.

Group 1 and group 2 voting ends tonight at 6 p.m. Group 3 and group 4 will start Wednesday and end Friday at 6 p.m. Group 5 will start on Friday morning and end Monday at 9 a.m.

Semi-final No. 1 will start on Monday (June 4) night at 5 p.m. and will end Wednesday June 6 at 6 p.m. Semi-final No. 2 will start on Wednesday June 6 at 5 p.m. and end Friday June 8 at 6 p.m.

The finals will start on Monday, June 11 and last until Friday, June 15.

The student athletes that are up for Southern Utah player of the year are the following:

From Dixie High School: Devin Bennett (Basketball and soccer), Walker Swenson (basketball), Justin Cummings (football, wrestling, and track), Tadd Challis (football, basketball, and soccer) and DeShon Brown (basketball).

From Desert Hills High School: Brandon Simister (basketball), Mike Needham (football and basketball) Tyler Ott (basketball and track), and Bud Pope (football basketball and track).

From Hurricane High School: Brian Scott (football, wrestling, soccer, and track) Boston Gubler (basketball), Colton Marshall (football and basketball), Weston Yardley (football, basketball, and track), and Taylor Parker (football, basketball, and track).

From Snow Canyon High School: Cooper Robinson (football), Austin Ovard (basketball and baseball), Ben Smith (football and track), Ben Gottfredson (football and basketball), and Brayden Linde (football, basketball and baseball).

From Pine View High School: Braxton Peterson (football and track) and Jake Arslanian (football and track).

From Cedar High School: Kyler Nielson (basketball), John Ursua (football, basketball and track), and Trent Snow (basketball).

From Canyon View High School: Kameron King (football, basketball, baseball).

Remember, you have to go to like the page to vote.

For more LOCAL SPORTS talk, tune into Blake’s Take weekdays from 5-6 p.m. on KZNU Sports Radio – 93.1 FM 1450 AM – or online streaming live on KZNU Sports website:

[email protected]

Twitter:  @BlakesTake

Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.