Ford Ironman St. George Race Day Events Keep Spectators Busy

Ironman 2010 | Photo by Joyce Kuzmanic, St. George News

WASHINGTON COUNTY – The second annual Ford Ironman St. George will kick off Saturday, May 7, pitting over 2,000 registered endurance triathletes against a 17-hour time limit to complete a 2.4-mile swim, 112-mile bike ride, and 26.2-mile run. Competitors ages 18 to 70 will be coming from 48 states and 36 countries to push their personal limits on a course many refer to as the most challenging of Ironman routes.

Spectators will notice Washington County athletes are marked this year by their green bib numbers. There are 71 Washington County athletes competing in the Ford Ironman St. George 2011.

Locals who wish to cheer on athletes can join the fun at a variety of venues. At 6:00 p.m. Friday evening, kids ages 12 and under can participate in a one-mile or 200-meter fun run that finishes through the same finish line as Ironman athletes. This event costs $10 and participants will receive a t-shirt, medal, and finish line drinks. Vendors and food will be available at Town Square from 4:30 to 8:30 p.m. Friday evening.

On race day, the Boy Scouts and Lions Club will serve hot breakfast at the Sand Hollow Reservoir swim start, including breakfast burritos, egg sandwiches, cinnamon rolls, hot drinks, and juice for a few dollars apiece. Spectators wishing to view the Ironman swim start need to park at the Washington County Fairgrounds and ride a shuttle to Sand Hollow State Park. Shuttle busses will run 5:30 a.m.-6:40 a.m. and return spectators to their cars after the swim cutoff, approximately 9:45 a.m.

Washington City will be hosting a free pancake breakfast Saturday from 8:00 a.m. until 11:00 a.m. at the corner of Main St. and Buena Vista Blvd. in Washington. There will be food, music, and games and spectators can cheer on bikers as they pass.

The Ivins Fitness Festival at Unity Park (200 W. 400 S.) will take place from 9:00 a.m. to 3:00 p.m. and will have the Ironman announcer announcing bikers as they fly by the bike loop two times. Spectators can meet contestants from The Biggest Loser, browse Coyote Gulch Art Village Galleries, and enjoy live entertainment, demonstrations, inflatables and extreme games, a Wii wall, and free photos by YellowPix.

Food vendors will also be available at St. George Town Square from 11:00 a.m. till 11:00 p.m. on Saturday.

For more information, visit


Washington County Athletes competing in Ford Ironman St. George 2011

Bib       Name                            City                  State

61         Amber   Every                St. George          UT

65         Robyn   Kiser                 St. George          UT

116       Breanna Nelson               St. George          UT

122       Renee Rymer                  Hurricane           UT

158       Jamie Egbert                   Washington        UT

164       Natalie   Christensen        St. George          UT

165       Staci Taylor                   Washington        UT

255       Cathy Ford                     St. George          UT

306       Shawna Crosby               Hurricane           UT

376       Debbra   Zockoll             St. George          UT

410       Kole Monroe                  St. George          UT

431       David Trueblood             Santa Clara         UT

550       Josh Every                     St. George          UT

553       Craig Coats                    St. George          UT

596       Jason Sjo                       Hurricane           UT

628       Curtis Spragg                 Washington        UT

633       Justin Lanoue                 St. George          UT

639       Jason Jarvie                    Ivins                 UT

654       Josh Beecher                   St. George          UT

662       Jesse Callahan                 Washington        UT

664       Bob Hermandson             St. George          UT

688       Cory Johnson                 St. George          UT

710       Brandon Neil                  St. George          UT

747       Branon Dowding             St. George          UT

763       Ben Hobson                   Santa Clara         UT

812       John Beckstrand              St. George          UT

821       Shem Foster                   Hurricane           UT

843       Luke Greer                     St. George          UT

848       Waco Taylor                  Washington        UT

893       Ryan Poulsen                 St. George          UT

926       Steven Hooper                St. George          UT

940       Steve Olsen                    St. George          UT

952       Ryan Stephens                St. George          UT

989       Heath Burchinal              St. George          UT

1010     Rich Bruin                     St. George          UT

1020     Jed Christensen               St. George          UT

1042     Andrew Lindstrom           St. George          UT

1059     Jeremy   Frehner              St. George          UT

1064     Hyrum   Laturner             St. George          UT

1104     Marc Mortensen              St. George          UT

1119     Eric Dansie                     St. George          UT

1134     Jakob Vanderwerff            Springdale          UT

1171     Mike Warren                  St. George          UT

1249     Darrin    Larkin               St. George          UT

1253     Robert   Benson              Santa Clara         UT

1275     Stephen Hansen               St. George          UT

1308     Daren Brooks                  St. George          UT

1317     Kim Ford                       St. George          UT

1321     Richard Winn                 Washington        UT

1328     Dale Ipson                      Washington        UT

1371     Steven Wallenfels            Ivins                 UT

1382     Randall Olsen                 St. George          UT

1404     Brent Bills                     St. George          UT

1459     Randall Larsen                Hurricane           UT

1502     Russell  Warr                 St. George          UT

1548     Pete Bowden                  St. George          UT

1595     Jeffrey Manwaring            St.George           UT

1640     Dan Woodside                St. George          UT

1731     Ross Decker                   St. George          UT

1759     Lindsey Merrill               St. George          UT

1763     Mathew Ferguson            St. George          UT

1780     Stan Beutler                   Santa Clara         UT

1789     Dennis   Jorgensen           St. George          UT

1832     Chuck Tandy                  Washington        UT

1867     Dennis   Budd                 Leeds                UT

1868     Kris Hansen                    Toquerville        UT

1901     Bob Mcdonald                Washington        UT

1910     Dennis   Wignall             St. George          UT

1913     Merril Bryan                   St. George          UT

1915     Amber Green                  St. George          UT

1938     Willy Heinrich                St. George          UT


Free News Delivery by Email

Would you like to have the day's news stories delivered right to your inbox every evening? Enter your email below to start!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.